Why'd U Go White (or Black)??? Romance Forward to friends

• View author's info Posted on Jun 24, 2005 at 05:44 PM

I date outside my race because there are now more women to choose from.
  • View author's info Posted on Jun 23, 2005 at 09:28 PM

Hi Everyone! This is my first time joining the message board. Very interesting post! For me, I was the only black person in my graduating class. I dated the only black guy - who was two years older than me - in the school for a short period of time. Even so, my first every experience was with white men... prom, first kiss... everything. My step-father is white. He and my mother have been married for 17 years. More than half of my life. In college, I was dead set on dating black men, but white men and other ethnic groups approached me. Not that I did not want them to approach me, I just wanted to know about my own race. I longed for the experience of a healthy same race relationship because I thought one should marry within their own race. My close guy friends told me at the time I was too slim with a big chest and smaller bottom and "too suburban"... black men did not think I would date them or they weren't sure how to approach me. I certainly could NOT believe that to be true... I was devastated at the time. White guys seem to identify with me. No matter how hard I tried, I was still naturally attracted to white men. So I finally decided to let my preferences take over. Hence, I prefer white men, but if the "right" man for me happens to not be white I will not turn away.
  • View author's info Posted on Jun 22, 2005 at 08:33 PM

I am a mixed-blood. Mohawk Indian/White.

On the exterior I appear white and blend into the white community almost seemlessly except for a little bit of cultural differences.

I was born in original Mohawk territory in upstate NY. There was very little interaction with blacks during my youth.