Is Black & British really an oxymoron? Cultures and Education Forward to friends

• View author's info Author Posted on Mar 08, 2007 at 09:18 PM

I hope you can throw some light on the subject here.

I'm a professional, educated black British guy living and working in NYC. I have dated primarily interracially for most of . But it seems it can be a problem for me here.

I feel that many non-African American women here who date men of color are maybe? looking for a stereotypical black man. I say this because I get such odd reactions when I meet women then they hear my London accent. I get either "oooh! I just love the way you talk" or more disturbingly a look that says "WTF ........ are you gay or something?" LMBAO! . I know that us European men do have a more sensitive way about us. I feel this is primarily because many of us are not so caught up in strong, gender stereotypes. So for instance a guy like me who is totally comfortable with his masculine AND feminine sides (I am heterosexual ;) is deemed effeminate over here no?

I can't and won't do the 'thugged out' ghetto nigga thing just to be accepted.

Have fun!

Anyway i look forward to your interesting comments.

Members Only

Follow - email me when people comment
  • 7Comments

• View author's info Posted on Aug 30, 2011 at 01:49 PM